automotive art by dennis

Hello spring, so long BRE…

The temps have finally broken out of the 30’s and today was probably the nicest Saturday’s in a very long time. I decided to take the Z out, even though I’m still sick as hell. I changed a couple things around the front end of the car, finally filling the gap between the early 240z side valences, and adding the 240z turn signals.

So on my way across town, i was really enjoying the ride… it was gooooood to finally be back in a fun car. Stereo cranked, smooth highway, sun finally shining… for those few minutes everything was perfect. So out of nowhere, the car ahead of me in the next lane decides to run over a huge piece of eighteen wheeler tire tread, shooting it my way. I hear a *CRRACK* and then *CRSSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH**** fml…. I pull over the moment i have a chance.. yep, that BRE lip is bent way back under the car. not to mention that the side of the highway is still soaked from the melting snow, turning soil into mud.

the center piece of the valence is cracked s well. at this point i was glad i didnt spend the time and money painting it…

so yeah, the lip is pretty much shot. cracked in a couple spots, and ground down by the pavement.

so yeah, fuck the whole BRE setup…. i’d kill for a G-nose, but just cant swing it right now.

shit didnt end there. i was planning on washing the car off, since it was covered in mud from me pulling over into a dirty trap of a highway shoulder. so when i got in the car that night to head to the carwash and then home, i noticed that none of my gauges were lit. figured it was a blown fuse. so i arrived at the quarter carwash and figured i’d check to see if anything else wasnt working. yep, the taillights were shot as well. i dive under the dash to check the fuses and notice the fusebox cover is bulging in one spot. i take it off and the spot that indicates the location of the taillight fuse, is burnt and all the plastic cover is now a bubble. surprisingly a nearby grocery store had the right fuses in stock. i was actually shocked that a place like that would cary something that would save my night.

so yeah, so long BRE… anyone willing to sponsor my G-nosejob speak up LOL!

8 responses

  1. DAMN! I did that but I ran over a snow bump that had ice in it and there went my lip.

    Last pic is awesome.

    March 7, 2010 at 11:40 pm

  2. Bob

    Ouch dude! Are you certain the lip isn’t repairable? It doesn’t look too bad, and if it’s fiberglass or plastic, they make products to do either (I worked at a body shop in Troy for years, I’ve done it personally- missing bracket mounts on a bumper? No problem! Fix a torn cover for a lease return? Done. Repair an S13 Silvia front bumper cracked to hell I found in a trash can at a drift event and flip it for $150 afterwards? You betcha.).

    If you need/want some help with that, let me know. You still have my e-mail, yes?

    And hey, it could be worse. You still have your Datsun. My ’74 Celica doesn’t exist anymore- the firewall is somewhere in the phillipenes, parts are in old Toyotas across LA, and the rest is a washing machine.

    March 7, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    • dsalni

      Yo Bobby!

      long time no see. you’re right, when you mention that, the picture of your Celica comes to mind. yeah, it could’ve been way worse.

      I appreciate your offer to help with the lip. but i think this is going to the the whole attempt of making the BRE lip work on a 280z. it just seems like so far it’s been too much work and effort at something that didnt look all that good in the long run. if it ever goes back on the car, it’ll be as-is lol.. ground down and zip-tied together.

      you mention you worked in a body shop? i’ll definitely need your help with a couple other things though. i’ll hit you up soon.

      March 7, 2010 at 11:56 pm

  3. shame about the lip, but your car looks damn good with the black fender mirrors!

    March 8, 2010 at 5:09 am

  4. http://www.zcluboftexas.org/forsale.html

    scroll down for parts for sale…..might still have it.

    March 8, 2010 at 5:24 pm

  5. Koich

    Hey, at least this didn’t happen with a G-nose on it!!

    March 11, 2010 at 12:33 pm

  6. Bob

    Haha, it’s been awhile since I’ve been back. Yep, worked at a body shop in an industrial park at 15 and Crooks for years. I’m not spectacular, but I kinda know what I’m doing, haha. If you want any help, just shoot me an e-mail! I’d love to see the Z either way.

    March 22, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  7. Son

    My 280z did the same thing about the fuse. I lost taillights and interior lights. I checked the fuse box, and the cover was also melted and bulging in the same spot! hMmmmm…

    July 21, 2010 at 4:56 am